IBS Budapest

Jump to content Jump to footer

Austria is a federal republic state with a parliamentary democracy, consisting of 9 independent federal regions: Burgenland, Carinthia, Lower Austria, Upper Austria, Salzburg, Styria, Tyrol, Vorarlberg and Vienna. Austria joined the European Union in 1995 and is a member of the Schengen agreement.

  • Official name: Republic of Austria
  • Official language: German
  • Territory: 83,855 km2
  • Population: 9,06 million (2020)
  • Capital: Vienna (1,96 million)
  • Currency: Euro
  • Calling code for Austria: +43
  • Drives: on the right
  • Time zone: CET (UTC+1), summer CEST (UTC+2)
  • Highest mountain: Großglockner, 3,798 m
  • Main river: Danube
  • Major religion: Roman Catholic (approx. 56,9%), Orthodox Christian (8%), Muslim (7,9%) Protestant (approx. 3,3%)
  • Electricity: 230 V

More info at: http://www.austria.info