General Information

Subscribe for more!

Subscribe for updates!

Austria is a federal republic state with a parliamentary democracy, consisting of 9 independent federal regions: Burgenland, Carinthia, Lower Austria, Upper Austria, Salzburg, Styria, Tyrol, Vorarlberg and Vienna. Austria joined the European Union in 1995 and is a member of the Schengen agreement.

  • Official name: Republic of Austria
  • Official language: German
  • Territory: 83,855 km2
  • Population: 8,4 million (2011)
  • Capital: Vienna (1,7 million)
  • Currency: Euro
  • Calling code for Austria: +43
  • Calling code for Vienna: (+43)
  • Drives: on the right
  • Time zone: CET (UTC+1), summer CEST (UTC+2)
  • Highest mountain: Großglockner, 3,798 m
  • Main river: Danube
  • Major religion: Roman Catholic (approx. 74%),  Protestant (approx. 5%)
  • Electricity: 230 V

more info at: